Dealing With the Writing pendulum

06/20/2022

Every writer I know (and I know a few!) struggles with self-doubt. If you're lucky, then you vaccilate with success - I've recently had a story published in an anthology, so am currently in the 'I can write' side of the pendulum. A few weeks ago, I was seriously considering chucking it all in. Why would anyone willingly pour their heart and soul into something that is most likely to be rejected, at least once? 


Why do writers suffer with self doubt?


  • Rejection

There are a number of External factors that lead writers to doubt their ability. Chief among these is rejection. I've yet to find an author who never had any writing rejected - and that includes famous writers. Lets face it, no matter how long you've been writing, sending out a piece of work to have it rejected, in some cases repeatedly, is discouraging. In On Writing, Stephen King says he pinned every rejection letter he received to his wall with a nail. "By the time I was fourteen, the nail in my wall would no longer support the weight of the rejection slips impaled upon it. I replaced the nail with a spike and went on writing." (If you don't have this book, I would highly recommend buying it.)

This article by Dana Shavin talks about some research she conducted with other writers to establish the reasons writers struggle with self doubt. The results show how subjective publication really is, and how bias, publishing whims, and competition make it very difficult to have work published. This inevitably leads to work being rejected.  

I once had a story rejected by a well known women's magazine, only to have it published when the editor changed.  

  • Competition

Some publications will tell you how many submissions they receive a year, and often they are choosing from thousands of submissions. The big publishing houses receive 2000 - 5000 submissions per year. Agents and publishers estimate that only 1-2% of submitted writing is published. 

  • Compatibility 

Each market for a writer's work (ie publisher) has its own target audience, style, word length, formatting, and type of writing they publish. Your work has to meet these to even be considered. This article by Ian Irving talks about how to avoid falling into this trap. 

Once it has passed that initial test, it then faces a huge amount of competition from other writers, and finally, the vagaries and whims of the editors who make the final selection.  

  • Personality

Writers do have a tendency to 'live in their heads' - it really helps for writers to be able to think, to work out story ideas, characters and scenarios. The catch is this also makes us prone to think about negatives as well. Many writers do have issues with mental health, and personally, I believe this is because of how much we think. Fortunately, there is a lot of help out there to deal with this - personally, I find strategies from Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) particularly helpful. This article from Positive Psychology is fairly comprehensive. 

Strategies for dealing with self doubt


1) Remind yourself - you are not alone. 

Every writer faces self doubt. William Goldman said: "Writing is finally about one thing: going into a room alone and doing it. Putting words on paper that have never been there in quite that way before. And although you are physically by yourself, the haunting Demon never leaves you, that Demon being the knowledge of your own terrible limitations, your hopeless inadequacy, the impossibility of ever getting it right. No matter how diamond-bright your ideas are dancing in your brain, on paper they are earthbound."

2) Every writer experiences rejection

If I'm feeling really discouraged, then I like to look at how many times other writers had their work rejected: This list of 50 writers who faced rejection multiple times before finally being published. Some authors have even published their rejection letters - you can read some of them here. 

3) Prepare to have your work rejected

Rejection will happen, so accept this as inevitable, and write. Much along the lines of 'Feel the Fear and do it anyway.' The Stoneslide corrective have a 'rejection generator' you can use to help you practice. They have moved to a new site, but the generator still works at this link. 

4) Remind yourself of your successes

Keep a list of published work, the good comments you receive and put it up where you can see it whenever you feel self doubt. One of my favourite comments was a friend who said a story of mine, Sibling Rivalry, stuck with her for years. 

5) Allow yourself time to 'grieve' 

Rejection letters will make you feel miserable - I currently have two in my inbox. It's okay to feel sad, but don't wallow. Pick yourself up, and get back to that keyboard / paper quickly. 

6) What can you learn from the feedback?

Not all publishers offer feedback when they reject work, but if they do consider it carefully, and review the story. You may decide not to change it, but often the feedback can help you shape the story. In some instances, the editor will reconsider if you revise the story - I've had stories published when I change them following feedback received. 

7) Join a writing community

Having others to talk to who are on the same journey can be immensely encouraging. Plus you can share your work and conundrums with a community who offer positive criticism - if they don't leave that group and find another one! 

8) Never, ever give up! 

You'll never succeed if you give up. Thomas Edison famously said 'success is 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration.'  I often keep positive quotes like that in prominent places. 

9) Create your writer's manifesto 

This is a great idea from a blog by Ruthanne Reid about self doubt. Create a Writer's Manifesto to encourage you:

'The way I handle this is to write a manifesto. Something like this:

  • I will write when I don't feel like it.
  • I will write when it hurts.
  • I believe I can write, even if I suck a lot.
  • People want to read what I write. I know because I want to read it, too.
  • It's okay if I suck right now. I will figure it out and get better.
  • I will not stop writing.'

10) Remind yourself why you write

No matter how many times I've 'quit' writing, I've always gone back. There is nothing like when writing goes well. I can't imagine my world without writing


© 2018 Denice Penrose. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started